Hamilton Leads Mercedes 1-2 at Monza

Lewis Hamilton wins the 2017 Monaco Grand Prix from Valterri Bottas leading a Mercedes 1-2 finish in the race with Sebastian Vettel finishing in 3rd place 36seconds behind Hamilton. With this Result Hamilton takes first in the drivers championship and Mercedes Extends it’s Championship lead. Mercedes beatsFerrari on their home ground. Hamilton now has 228 points to Vettel’s 225,Bottas is in reach with 197 points.

Daniel Riccardo battled his way from 16th on the grid to take fourth place for Red Bull he finished ahead of the second Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen. Estaban Ocon secured 6th place for Force India after a race long tussle with the Williams of Lance Stroll and Felipe Massa. Sergio Perez finished ninth and Max Verstappen finished tenth after a excellent start dropped back when he had a earlier clash with Massa. Verstappen recovered to complete the top 10.

Hamilton dominated the race from the start. Bottas gained 2nd place from the third lap. Bottas original made a poor start but redeemed himslef by snatching fourth place. He passed Raikkonen’s Ferrari round the outside of the Parabolica at the end of the opening lap. He made short of Ocon who took second place form Stroll at the start of the race.Mercedes ran away with the race with none of the other teams having any answers Hamilton led Bottas home by 4.4s.

Red Bull showed strong race pace which helped them after engine penalties had pushed them down the grid. Riccardo started on the soft Pirelli tyres, ran until the 37th lap on them, then came on like gangbusters on supersofts in the final stint. The Australian cut an 11.5s deficit to Vettel to just 4.0s by the flag, though the German told his team he’d had a problem from the halfway mark.

Verstappen had contact with Massa on the third lap this sent him to the pits for a replacement front wheel and tyre. He and Riccardo set several fastest laps. Verstappen recovered to finish 10th make a series of beautiful passes.

Raikkonen took a very distant fifth. fifth through ninth was covered by 3.6s. Raikkonen was ahead of the fierce fight between Ocon’s Force India, Stroll’s Williams and there respective team mates.

Magnussen finished 11th, Kyat finished 12th less than a second behind Magnussen. Hulkenberg finished 13th narrowly ahead of Carlos Sainz. Romain Grosjean finished 15th ahead of the final finisher Pascal Wehrlein. Both Mclaren Honda’s retired from the race along with Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson and Renault’s Jolyon Palmer.

Source F1, Motorsport

Pos No Driver Car Laps Time/Retired Pts
1 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 53 1:15:32.312 25
2 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 53 +4.471s 18
3 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 53 +36.317s 15
4 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 53 +40.335s 12
5 7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 53 +60.082s 10
6 31 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 53 +71.528s 8
7 18 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 53 +74.156s 6
8 19 Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 53 +74.834s 4
9 11 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 53 +75.276s 2
10 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 52 +1 lap 1
11 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 52 +1 lap 0
12 26 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 52 +1 lap 0
13 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 52 +1 lap 0
14 55 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 52 +1 lap 0
15 8 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 52 +1 lap 0
16 94 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber Ferrari 51 +2 laps 0
17 14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Honda 50 DNF 0
18 9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 49 DNF 0
NC 2 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Honda 33 DNF 0
NC 30 Jolyon Palmer Renault 29 DNF 0
Posted in F1 News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *